Skip To Content
Back to home page Site Map Contact Us    Search Website
City of Highland Park, Michigan...Return to Excellence


City Council

Pursuant to the Highland Park Charter, Chapters 5 and 6, the City Council of Highland Park is comprised of 5 members each elected to a four-year term. The council exercises all of the legislative powers of the city, except as otherwise stated by law, and provides for the public’s peace and health, and for the safety of persons and property.


The council meets in regular session in the established Council Chamber on the 1st and 3rd Monday of each month. The Highland Park City Clerk provides an agenda of business to be considered at each regular Council meeting, and except, when this rule is waived by the affirmative vote of three members of council, no item of business may be placed on the agenda unless notice thereof was filed in the office of the Clerk by noon on the third working day proceeding each Friday before the regular meeting. A quorum is reached when there are at least 3 council members to transact the business of the city. In the absence of a full quorum, the meeting can be adjour`ned until such time as a quorum has been reached.  Click here to view the 2017 meeting schedule.  The Reference Desk section has an archive of council minutes and agendas

Members 2016 - 2019

Council President Rodney Patrick
Rodney Patrick
Council President
(313) 585-4777
Areas of Focus: Light Rail, Historic Districts,
Image Building
Glenda McDonald
Glenda McDonald
Council President Pro Tem
Areas of Focus:  Community Sources, Youth In Government

Council Member Christopher Woodard
Christopher Woodard
Council Member
(313) 645-2282/(313) 869-4575
Area of Focus:  Water

Council Member Norma Lewis
Norma Lewis
Council Member
(313) 868-1433
Areas of Focus: General Information, Senior Citizens, Water,  and DAAA
Council Member Titus McClary
Titus McClary
Council Member



November 23-24
City offices/Court closed

December 8
BOR Deadline

Non-emergency Services
Police:(313) 852-7338
Fire:(313) 852-3221